R Praggnanandhaa, Gukesh D among 5 Indians featured in Tata Steel Chess India event

Emerging as a foremost contender, R Praggnanandhaa, who simply made it to the FIDE World Cup semifinals, is ready to characteristic as considered one of India’s main gamers on the Tata Steel Chess India (TSCI) event.

This keenly-anticipated contest is scheduled to happen on the esteemed National Library in Kolkata from August 31 to September 9.

Joining Praggnanandhaa on the grand stage are different well-known Indian chess stars akin to Gukesh D, Vidit Gujrathi, and Arjun Erigaisi. These proficient gamers confirmed their high quality by progressing to the quarterfinals of the FIDE World Cup in Baku.

A notable addition to this 12 months’s event is reigning ladies’s world champion, Ju Wenjun, who is ready to make her debut in the competition. Her participation counts as a layer of pleasure and prominence to the competition.

Both the open and girls’s classifications are set to relish parallelism in phrases of prize cash, with every class puffing a prize fund of $41,500. The event will include contests held in each fast and blitz codecs, supplying a medium for gamers to depict their strategic dexterity and speedy considering.

Promoting the significance of this 12 months’s competitors are a powerful assortment of individuals. The presence of International Grandmasters, rising Indian prodigies, and the nice Viswanathan Anand because the event ambassador will all enhance the aggressive terrain.

Tata Steel Chess India (TSCI) is ready to captivate chess aficionados from August 31 to September 9, 2023, at Kolkata’s prestigious National Library.

Players that includes in Tata Steel Chess India event

Here is the entire record of chess masters set to shine on the Tata Steel Chess India event:


  1. Vidit Gujrathi
  2. Arjun Erigaisi
  3. Gukesh D
  4. R. Praggnanandhaa
  5. Pentala Harikrishna
  6. Maxime Vachier-Lagrave (France, World blitz champion 2021)
  7. Alexander Grischuk (Russia)
  8. Teymour Radjabov (Azerbaijan, FIDE World Cup Winner 2019)
  9. Nodirbek Abdusattorov (Uzbekistan, World fast champion 2021)
  10. Vincent Keymer (Germany, runner-up in World fast championship)


  1. Koneru Humpy
  2. Harika Dronavalli
  3. R. Vaishali
  4. Savitha Shri
  5. Vantika Agarwal
  6. Ju Wenjun (China, World ladies’s champion)
  7. Tingjie Lei (China, runner-up in World championships)
  8. Nino Batsiashvili (Georgia)
  9. Anna Ushenina (Ukraine, winner of TSCI fast 2022)
  10. Irina Krush (USA)
Edited by Akshay Saraswat

Leave a Comment